Second bite for Cape Town Roses?

Caption: 2014 Sasol league national champions Cape Town Roses
2014 Sasol league national champions Cape Town Roses



The seventh edition of the Sasol League National Championship will kick start on the 7 to 13 December 2015. The Sasol sponsored tournament, has chosen the town of Sasolburg in the Free State province to play host.


Sasolburg will host nine provincial teams that will battle it out at the Harry Gwala Multipurpose Centre with the hopes of being crowned national champions.  


The final match will take place at DP de Villiers stadium on Sunday the 13th of December at 15:00GMT


The vice President for Group Communications and Brand management at Sasol, Elton Fortuin said, 

“This marks Sasol’s seventh year of empowering women through sport and it is rewarding to see the Sasol League National Championships continuing to grow each year.  


‘’The development of the players, not only in terms of their football skills, but also their personal growth is admirable. The key purpose behind our involvement in the sport is to help break gender barriers, enabling women to realise their potential. We therefore wish each participating team well for the Championships.”


The player of the match “Diski Queen” award will win prize money of R1000 ($70)after the game and all individual award winners will be given with R5000 ($350)each.


Cape Town Roses FC beat Palace Super Falcons 2-1, with goals coming from Nocawe Skiti (Roses) a brace and Gugu Gabuza (Falcons) to be crowned 2014 champions at the Isaac Wolfson stadium, in Port Elizabeth.  


The deadly attackingcombination of Nandipha Booi and Nocawe Skiti for Roses, made it possible for the Cape side to clinch their first Sasol league national championship.


The treble champions Palace Super Falcons are absent from the 2015 tournament as Mamelodi Sundowns ladies won their provincial league to represent Gauteng. But, 2014 victors Cape Town Roses FC, will be present at this year’s tournament in hopes to defend their title.



Als Puk Tawana (North West)
Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies (Free State)

Cape Town Roses (Western Cape)
Coal City Wizards FC (Mpumalanga)
Durban Ladies FC (Kwa-Zulu Natal)
Kanatla Ladies FC (Limpopo)
Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
Red Roses FC (Eastern Cape)

**Northern Cape side Galeshewe Ladies/RC Mills Ladies will be played 1 December and results will be announced after the game has been played.


Previous teams crowned Sasol League National Champions:

Detroit Ladies- Mpumalanga (2009)

Palace Super Falcons- Gauteng (2010, 2011 & 2012)

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies- Gauteng (2013)

Cape Town Roses- Western Cape (2014)


Leave a Reply