Rivers Angels clinch 2015/2016 Nigeria Women Premier League title

(Photo Credit: Jessica Amadi)


Rivers Angels have emerged champions of the Nigeria Women Premier League for the third time in a row after beating Nasarawa Amazons 5-3 via penalties following a goalless draw in regulation time at the FIFA Goal Project, Abuja on Saturday.
Now the one-million-dollar question still remains, “Who can stop Rivers Angels?”
Chairman of the League Management Company, Shehu Dikko presenting a cheque to Rivers Angels Captain Charity John (Photo Credit: Jessica Amadi)
Last year, both sides had finished as leaders of Group A and B in the 2015/2016 NWPL season but had to wait until now to face-off in the Winners Cup match.
Few minutes after Nasarawa Amazons got the encounter underway, it was Rivers Angels who looked like they would get the first goal, but Amarachi Ojinma’s header off an Ugo Njoku corner flew wide.
By the 22nd minute, Ojinma’s well taken freekick hit the woodwork as both teams continued to churn out decent chances. One of which saw Nasarawa Amazons midfielder Chinyere Igboamalu force Rivers Angels goalkeeper and captain Charity John  to a save.
As the game progressed, creating opportunities became tougher, but pacy Ojinma still found her way past Nasarawa United defender Joy Duru and goalkeeper Chukwu Uchenna, before her effort was cleared off the line by Ebere Okoye.
Three minutes into the second half Amarachi Ojinma was replaced by Orji Chiwendu with the scoreline still goalless.
Rivers Angels and Super Falcons striker, Chioma Wogu tried a shot from 27 yards out but it did not trouble Uchenna, who remained resolute in between the sticks for Nasarawa Amazons.
In the latter stages of the match, Nasarawa Amazons had two chances in quick succession through Uchendu Chinaza and Esther Victor  that should have seen them break the deadlock.
With both teams tied for a barren draw at full time, the match went straight into penalty shootout where Charity John saved Adejoke Ejalonibu’s shot to help Rivers Angels claim the double.
The Ultimate Club as they have been nicknamed also defeated Bayelsa Queens 5-3 on penalties to clinch the Federation Cup title.

Leave a Reply