New NWPL season set to kick off in March


The 2016/17 season of the Nigeria Women Premier League has been scheduled to commence on March 25, 2017, while the pro league which is the second division will begin two weeks after.

This was announced at the Annual General Congress held at the Hotel de Bentley in Abuja Monday night, where it was also resolved that league will maintain the abridged format of two groups. Afterwards, the draw which happened to be the last item on the agenda for the night, was conducted, pitching reigning Champions Rivers Angels alongside South South rivals Bayelsa Queens in Group A.

Heartland Queens of Owerri are the newly promoted side in the group. FC Sadaatu Kolo are the newbies in Group B which also accommodates last season’s runners-up Nasarawa Amazons.

Meanwhile four teams were officially relegated from the premier league. They are; Taraba Queens, Martin White Doves, Tokas Queens and Capital City Doves.

Hence there are eight teams per group as opposed to the nine teams per group last season, where two teams had to be on standby every matchday.

Group A
Rivers Angels
Bayelsa Queens
FC Robo
Sunshine Queens
Heartland Queens
Ibom Angels
Abia Angels
COD Ladies

Group B
Nasarawa Amazons
Delta Queens
Osun Babes
FC Sadaatu Kolo
Confluence Queens
Adamawa Queens
Pelican Stars
Edo Queens

NWPL Week one fixtures

Group A
Rivers Angels vs COD Ladies
Bayelsa Queens vs Ibom Angels
Heartland Queens vs FC Robo
Sunshine Queens vs Abia Angels

Group B
Nasarawa Amazons vs Osun Babes
Delta Queens vs Confluence Queens
Adamawa Queens vs Edo Queens
Pelican Stars vs FC Sadaatu Kolo

Leave a Reply