NWPL: Sunshine Queens drop ten players ahead of second stanza


Sunshine Queens have officially axed ten players from their squad ahead of the second round of the 2016/2017 Nigeria Women Premier League.

According to a press release by the club’s media, the players that will have to seek new challenges elsewhere include; Lilian Anam, Jane Godwin, Sola Oyewusi, Okoro Chidima, Mary Olaitan, Ojokole Idowu, Oluwaseun Anani, Yemi Oladipupo,  Adenike Adekunle and Obi Ijeoma.

In their stead however, five players have been recruited. And notably is the return of Tina Oyatelome, who was highest goal scorer in the Women’s Federation Cup two years ago when the Owena Mermaids were crowned Champions.

Oyetelome has rejoined the Akure based side after a brief stint at Confluence Queens of Kogi.

Florence Alexandria, Chima Nwosu Fabiyi, Olamide Bolaji and Precious Vincent are the other players that have been signed to fortify the team.


Leave a Reply