VOTE: 2017 BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year

Janine Anthony

The BBC for the third year in a row, has released the shortlist for the BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year award .

The 2017 edition was announced on April 30 on the BBC World Service’s programme with host Sarah Mulkerrins, featuring guest panelists Ladiesmarch’s Janine Anthony and Editor of UK-based women’s football magazine, Jen O’neill of Shekicks.

Criteria for the selection of the five nominees include;

· Sporting excellence (e.g. technical ability, teamwork, impact on results, trophies, fair play, consistency, improved levels of performance)
· Regional impact (contribution they have made to football and sport in their region on and off the pitch)
· Global significance (importance for the global game and it’s development)

All these were deemed applicable to their work with their clubs, as well as national teams.

The 2017 nominees are:
Melanie Behringer Club: Bayern Munich, Germany Country: Germany
Ada Hegerberg Club: Olympique Lyonnais, France Country: Norway
Hedvig Lindahl Club: Chelsea, UK Country: Sweden
Marta Club: Orlando Pride, USA Country: Brazil
Christine Sinclair Club: Portland Thorns, USA Country: Canada

Speaking on the award, Mary Hockaday, Controller of BBC World Service English heralded the growth of the women’s game and the impact the award has had on the sport in general.

“Now in its third year, the BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year award celebrates the very best in women’s football around the world, and this year’s shortlist represents a truly incredible array of talent.

”2017 is a big year for women’s sport, and this award is a chance for us to recognise the extraordinary advances in women’s football over recent years, and for fans across the globe to vote for their favourite player.”

The voting lines are open for a period of two weeks and will close on Monday 15th May (0800GMT), with the winner of the award unveiled on Tuesday 30th May 2017.

Last year’s winner was Scottish footballer Kim Little who plays for Arsenal, and the 2015 winner was Nigerian footballer Asisat Oshoala who now plays for Dalian Quanjian Football Club in China.

Vote Here

Listen to the WFOTY announcement here


Leave a Reply