FIFA U20 World Cup: CAF Qualifiers unveiled

Ahead of the 9th edition of FIFA U-20 World Cup, a total of 19 African teams will compete for the two continental slots at the final tournament slated for 2018.

France will host the biennial competition between August 7-26, as well as the Women’s World Cup in 2019.

The qualification process begins with a preliminary round scheduled for the weekend of July 21-23, 2017. The final two teams will be confirmed at the weekend of January 26-28 , 2018.



  1. Burundi vs Djibouti
  2. Djibouti vs Burundi
  3. Libya vs Sierra Leone
  4. Sierra Leone vs Libya
  5. Botswana vs Kenya
  6. Kenya vs Botswana

Dates: Match I: 21 – 23 July 2017

Match II: 4 – 6 August 2017

 FIRST ROUND – Home and Away

  1. Burundi/Djibouti vs Rwanda
  2. South Africa vs Namibia
  3. Morocco vs Senegal
  4. Tanzania vs Nigeria
  5. Libya/Sierra Leone vs Tunisia
  6. Guinea vs Cameroon
  7. Algeria vs Ghana
  8. Botswana/Kenya vs Ethiopia

 Dates: Match I: 15 – 17 September 2017

Match II: 29 -30 September, 1st October 2017

SECOND ROUND – Home and Away

15. Djibouti/Burundi or Rwanda vs South Africa/Namibia                                                                                                            16. Morocco/Senegal vs Nigeria/Tanzania                                                                                                                                          17. Libya/Sierra Leone or Tunisia vs Cameroon/Guinea                                                                                                                18. Algeria/Ghana vs Botswana/Kenya or Ethiopia

Dates: Match I: 3 – 5 November 2017

Match II: 17 – 19 November 2017

THIRD ROUND – Home and Away  

     19.Winner 15 vs Winner 16                                                                                                                                                                    20. Winner 17 vs Winner 18

Dates: Match I: 12 -14 January 2018

Match II: 26 – 28 January 2018

For the mundial, 16 teams from six confederations will play across four cities in France. They include:

  • Rennes, Roazhon Park, capacity 29,778.
  • Saint-Brieuc, Stade Fred-Aubert, capacity 10,600.
  • Saint-Malo, Stade Marville, capacity 2,500.
  • Vannes, Stade de la Rabine, capacity 6,080.

North  Korea are the reigning Champion after defeating France 3-1 to claim the title in Papau New Guinea 2016.

Nana Akua
Nana Akua is Ladies March Ghanaian Correspondent. She's the second child of a Christian family of nine and got hooked on football at the age of 10. Interestingly, she played football in her junior high school team at age of 12. '' I stopped playing due to some myth my dad told me''. Hahaha She's a football reporter for Heritage and a Sports producer for a Ghana-based TV station. Nana is still studying at the Ghana Institute of Journalism. and is an avid Blogger. Arsenal fanatic, Accra Hearts of Oak stalker and Prison Ladies supporter, Nana loves sports to a fault basically because, ''I earn a living through writing and talking!! Radio, TV and newspaper'' Great!

Leave a Reply