UWCL: 2017/2018 qualifying draws concluded in Nyon

Rachael Ugiagbe

The draw for the qualifying round of the 2017/2018 UEFA Women’s Champions League was held on June 23, at the UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland and 40 teams have been drawn into ten groups consisting of four clubs.

Ajax, Olmpija Ljubljana, Sporting CP, WFC-2 Kharkiv, Shelbourne, Kiryat Gat, Partizán Bardejov, Linfield, Istatov, Bettembourg and Martve (Georgia’s first entrants since 2010/11), are the debutantes in the qualifying round.

The qualifiers which will be played between August 22-28, will have ten group winners progress and one runner-up with the best record against the teams first and third in the section.

In order to select the best second-placed team out of the 10 groups from the qualifying round, results against the first and third team in their respective groups will be considered. Results against the bottom teams will not be taken into account.It’s this calculation that will determine the 11th qualified team.

These 11 teams then proceed to join the 21 teams given byes to make up the round of 32.

Group 1:
Gintra Universitetas (LTU)
Konak Belediyespor (TUR)
Partizán Bardejov (SVK)
Martve (GEO)

Group 2:
Olimpia Cluj (ROU)
Hibernian (SCO)
WFC-2 Kharkiv (UKR)
Swansea City (WAL)

Group 3:
Standard Liège (BEL)
Ajax (NED)
Pärnu (EST)
Rīgas Futbola skola (LVA)

Group 4:
Medyk Konin (POL)
PK-35 Vantaa (FIN)
Shelbourne (IRL)
Linfield (NIR)

Group 5:
Apollon (CYP)
Sturm Graz (AUT)
NSA Sofia (BUL)
Noroc Nimoreni (MDA)

Group 6:
Zürich (SUI)
Minsk (BLR)
Olimpija Ljubljana (SVN)
Birkirkara (MLT)

Group 7:
Stjarnan (ISL)
Osijek (CRO)
KÍ Klaksvík (FRO)
SC Istatov (MKD)

Group 8:
BIIK-Kazygurt (KAZ)
MTK Hungária (HUN)
Sporting CP (POR)
Hajvalia (KOS)

Group 9:
ŽFK Spartak (SRB)
Avaldsnes (NOR)
Kiryat Gat (ISR)
Breznica (MNE)

Group 10:
SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH)
KS Vllaznia (ALB)
Bettembourg (LUX)

Leave a Reply