Rwanda to host CECAFA Women’s Championship in November

Photo Credit: SportPicha

The Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA) is slated to hold it’s third Women’s football championship in November, hosted by Rwanda.

The tournament which took a 30-year hiatus from 1986 when it was first organized by Zanzibar, returned to action in 2016 and was hosted by Uganda.

With seven teams participating, drawn across two groups; A and B, Tanzania were the eventual 2016 winners, defeating Kenya 2-1, while Ethiopia finished third with a 4-1 win over Uganda. Burundi, Zanzibar and Rwanda completed the list.

As the COSAFA Women’s Championship for Southern African nations kicks off in September, the East Africa association has agreed to an undisclosed date, two months after the COSAFA finals.

12 countries are in the running to participate, an increase from seven in 2016. They include:

Rwanda – Host Nation

Tanzania – Reigning Champion










South Sudan

This will be Rwanda’s second football announcement after officially tabling its bid to host the 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup,

More to follow.




Leave a Reply