COSAFA Women’s Championship: Twelve teams battle for supremacy

By Rebecca Magoma

Twelve  teams will take part in the in the fifth edition of the COSAFA Women’s Championship set for September 13-24 in Zimbabwe.

Kenya’s Harambee Starlets will take part in the championship  as a guest nation, the second nation from the region to participate following Tanzania in 2011.

This will be the first tournament for the Starlets since they took part in the African Women Cup of Nations finals late last year where they lost all their matches.

Harambee Starlets who finished second in the 2016 CECAFA Championship behind Tanzania will be using this Championship to prepare for the 2018 calendar of events.

The nations that will take part include: Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho,Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe go into this championship as defending champions but stiff competition is expected from Banyana Banyana of South Africa.

Both Zimbabwe and South Africa took part in the Rio 2016 Olympics where none of them won a single match with Banyana Banyana picking a point.

Leave a Reply