South Africa crowned COSAFA Queens

Rebecca Magoma

It was sweet revenge as South Africa claimed a 2-1 victory over Zimbabwe in the 2017 COSAFA Women’s Championship at the Barbourfields Stadium in Bulawayo on Sunday.

Leandra Smeda struck a winner in the dying minutes as South Africa’s Banyana Banyana  claimed a record of four titles from five Cosafa championships in a sold-out Stadium of over 30,000 capacity.

Chrestinah Kgatlana had scored the opener for the Desiree Ellis-coached side before halftime to take the lead.

Zimbabwe’s Mighty Warriors forward  Rutendo Makore equalized in the 73rd minute to add her goal tally to ten and claimed the golden boot.

It was Smeda who stole the show as she headed a winner in the 90th minute to give the South Africans a deserved win.

This was the third time the two sides were meeting in the championship final with South Africa winning the 2002 while Zimbabwe winning in 2011.

This was an incredible win especially for  Desiree Ellis who has now become the first individual to win the COSAFA Women’s Championship as a player and a coach.

Kgatlana was named Player of the Tournament for her exploits in the championship.

Leave a Reply