AS Kigali pocket $1200 prize money after sealing record Rwandan league titles

Additional report by Clarisse Uwimana
Rwanda’s 2017 First Division Women Football League came to an end on Saturday, October 7, 2017, with reigning champions AS Kigali, retaining their crown by defeating ES Mutunda WFC 4-0 at Stade de Kigali, Nyamirambo situated in the country’s capital.
A hat trick  by Callixte Iradukunda and the fourth goal by Florence Imanizabayo gave Coach Shaban Mbarushimana’s team an emphatic win, stretching the side’s unbeaten run to 15 games, 82 goals scored while conceding only four goals with a total point haul of 41.
                              Mukamana Clementine, League MVP
Bagging an unprecedented nine championship titles, Callixte finished as the league’s top scorer with 22 goals while Makumana Clementine emerged player of the year.
FERWAFA, Rwanda’s Football Association, rewarded the Champions through its president Nzamwita Vincent, with a prize money of Rwf. 1 million (Rwanda franc) which is approximately $1,200.
             Iradukunda Callixte, League Golden Boot
Speaking after AS Kigali’s’s victory, Mbarushimana reveled in the success, after the pressure of delivering for the perennial championship winners as a new coach.
“I am very happy for sure. My players deserve credit because they have done better. They gave everything to win the league.
“It is something special for us as new coaches. We came in to win and for the first season we did it and we will keep the spirit by winning more games” he said.
Despite the month-long postponement of the this fixture due to teams engagement in the regional inter-schools tournament in Uganda, Mutunda WFC sealed second spot on the standings with 29 points; nine wins, two draws and three losses.
Last season’s runners-up Kamonyi WFC, complete the top three with 27 points.
Rambura WFC finish fourth with 22 points while Inyemera WFC, Bugesera WFC, Gakenke WFC and Nyagatare WFC make up fifth to eight with 17, 13, six and four points respectively.
Scandinavia WFC will replace relegated Nyagatare after emerging top of second division. The country’s top flight league and second division are divided into eight teams apiece while the 2018 season will commence in January.
Rwanda now turns its attention to hosting the third edition of the East African regional tournament, the CECAFA Women’s Championship slated for November.

Leave a Reply