Kenya name squad for World Cup qualifier against Ghana

Rebecca Magoma

Kenya’s national under-20 women’s team will this weekend visit Accra for their first leg, second round tie against Ghana in the 2018 World Cup Qualifiers set for Sunday.

The team has been preparing for the clash for the past two weeks at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos.

The national side, however, will miss the services of seven key players in the two- legged  encounter due to the ongoing Kenya Certificate of Secondary School Exams (KCSE).

The players are Sheryl Angachi, Cynthia Shilwatso, Maureen Khakasa, Cynthia Akinyi, Sharon Adhiambo, Mercy Airo and Vivian Nasaka.

Kenya eliminated Ethiopia in the first round with a 4-3 aggregate victory after thrashing their Botswana counterparts 7-1 in the preliminary round.

Experienced fullback Wincate Kaari who plays for two-time champions Thika Queens, Mathare United Women striker Diana Wacera and Vihiga Queens midfielder Corazone Aquino will be the pillar of the team in this fixture.

Their contribution have been great in the squad and they are expected to rise for the occasion.

Soccer Queens striker Quinter Atieno will be making her debut for the national team and joins Judith Osimbo and Corazone Aquino both of whom started their footballing career at President Kimbrow FC.

The winner from this encounter will qualify to the third and last round of the qualifiers where only two teams will represent the continent in the global show-piece next year.

This will not be the first time Kenya is taking part in the qualifiers. In 2011, Kenya was eliminated from the qualifiers in the third round by Tunisia.

This is the best ever performance for the women’s football team in a World Cup qualifier.

Full Squad  


Lillian Awuor, Judith Osimbo, Brenda Achieng,


Lucy Akoth, Wincate Kaari, Veronica Awino, Foscah Nashivanda, Leah Cherotich, Harriet Nasambu


Corazone Aquino, Diana Wacera, Beverline Achieng, Jentrix Shikangwa, Racheal Muema, Stella Anyango, Linda Nyongesa, Diana Hashina,


Martha Amunyote, Lilian Omboga, Sylvia Kapere, Joy Kinglady, Quinter Atieno.

Leave a Reply