Kenya: KeWPL set for unified league in new season

Rebecca Magoma 

The Football Kenya Federation (FKF) are set to introduce a unified league for the Kenya Women’s Premier League (KWPL) in the forthcoming season.

Ahead of the commencement of the 2018 season scheduled for February 24, league fixtures have been released and it will feature 16 teams.

The KWPL used to be an abridged league of 14 teams split in two zones. And the winners of each zone go head to head in a playoff that decides the league champions.

Reigning champions Vihiga Queens will kick-off their title defence with an opening game against Eldoret Falcons.

In December 2017, FIFA selected Kenya for their pilot project which will focus on participation growth. “FIFA is aiming to reach 60 million female players by 2026.”

See the full KeWPL 2018 FIXTURES.

Leave a Reply