Kenya: Harambee Starlets to kick off AWCON preparations this weekend

By Rebecca Magoma

Kenya’s Harambee Starlets coach Richard Kanyi has named a provisional squad of 31 players ahead of a 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) qualifier against Crested Cranes of  Uganda that is set for early April.

The team is expected to report to residential camp at Machakos in preparation for the two-legged fixture.

In 2016, Kenya made history when they qualified for their maiden AWCON finals in Cameroon but failed to click after they were bundled out of the qualifiers in the preliminary round.

Kenya lost all their matches, against reigning champions, the Super Falcons of Nigeria, Mali and Ghana.

Starlets will be seeking their second chance to the prestigious continental show-piece but they have to beat the Crested Cranes of Uganda and Equatorial Guinea to make sure they qualify.

The tactician has made changes in the squad that took part in the COSAFA Women Championship last year in Zimbabwe where they finished fourth.

The U-20 national team custodian Judith Osimbo from Nyakach Girls has been given her maiden call up to the senior team alongside her counterpart Maureen Shimuli from Women Premier League side Wadadia.

Notable exclusions from the team include; midfielder Jacky Ogol, shot stopper Vivian Akinyi alongside her counterpart Samatha Akinyi, long serving midfielder Elizabeth Ambogo and Christine Nafula.

Full Squad


Jenipher Adhiambo (Mathare United), Judith Osimbo (Nyakach Girls), Pauline Atieno (Makolanders), Maureen Shimuli (Wadadia)


Wendy Achieng (Spedag), Esther Nadika (Gaspo Women), Dorcas Shikobe (Oserian Ladies), Pauline Musungu (Kakamega Leeds), Dorcas Anyango (Spedag), Euphresia Amwayi (Vihiga Queens), Christine Asuko (Makolanders), Lilian Adera (Vihiga Queens), Vivian Nasaka (Vihiga Queens), Ruth Ingosi (Eldoret Falcons), Elizabeth Mulupi (Eldoret Falcons), Wincate Kaari (Thika Queens), Jackline Musula (Mathare United)


Caroline Anyango (Spedag), Cheris Avilia (Spedag), Lydia Akoth (Thika Queens), Caroline Kiget (Thika Queens), Sheryl Angachi (Gaspo Women), Purity Nyongesa (Makolanders), Corazone Aquino (Vihiga Queens)


Mary Kinuthia (Gaspo Women), Mwanahalima Adams ( Thika Queens), Mercy Achieng (Thika Queens), Phoebe Owiti (Vihiga Queens), Neddy Atieno (Makolanders), Esse Akida (Spedag), Majorleen Nekesa (USA)

Leave a Reply